top of page

The second visit for the BTRC to Pembrey

The second visit for the BTRC to Pembrey - ends with one of the two class titles decided | BTRC | British Truck Racing Championship | TRUCK SPORT UK

Overcast with clouds high above was the weather at Pembrey on the 14th 15th October, this created promising conditions for the penultimate round of this year’s BRITISH TRUCK RACE CHAMPIONSHIP. As the teams headed to Wales circuit for the eighth round, the race for the championship title in both classes was on arrival still mathematically open – both Ryan Smith and Mika Mäkinen needing only a handful of points each to secure both the 2017 championship titles.


The first Division 1 race saw Ryan Smith on pole position on the grid with Stuart Oliver alongside on the front row in second and behind was Shane Brereton in third. The race was stable in terms of positions. Ryan Smith was eager to bag maximum points by the closing stages pulled out a comfortable lead and at the chequered flag, not even the five-second track limit penalty that Ryan received effected the race result.


The second Division 1 race saw Michael Oliver and Jamie Anderson take the start from the front row, by mid-race the championship front running trucks made their way past, however, after some post-race discussions up in race control Mat Summerfield was declared the winner Ryan Smith took second place and another new comer Jamie Anderson took third.


The third Division 1 race once again greatly entertained the bumper Pembrey crowds. Terry Gibbon had a text book start and managed an early lead in the race until mid-race when Ryan Smith, Shane Brereton and Stuart Oliver worked their way past. Ryan Smith took another win with Shane Brereton 2nd and Stuart Oliver 3rd.


The fourth and final Division 1 race of the weekend was a very short one, due to Ray Coleman and Shane Brereton’s trucks hitting hard together at the tight hatchets hairpin on the second lap and because of heavy barrier damage and the two stranded trucks the red flag came out to stop the race. Unfortunately, the BARC stewards decided it was time for an early bath for all and showing the chequered flag to the stationary trucks waiting on the grid and then deeming the one lap as a points-scoring race. Michael Oliver who was out in front leading the race at the showing of the red flag was penelised for a very strongly disputed out of position start, this giving Mat Summerfield the win followed by Jamie Anderson in second place and Dave Jenkins in third place.

After a weekend of the usual Pembrey all action truck race excitement Ryan Smith did not manage to score enough points to secure a second championship title, Stuart Oliver is the only contender that could mathematically spoil Ryan’s title chances, one thing is sure it will all be decided at Brands Hatch at the season fireworks finally on 4th and 5th of November!

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page